December 2016 Reading Recap

I haven’t posted much this month – December is always insanely busy! Anyhow, this will be a reading recap for November AND December!

I have officially completed my Goodreads Reading Challenge of 30 books, finishing the year at 32 books! It probably doesn’t sound like a lot compared to other book bloggers but that’s a good number of books for me!

In November and December, I read:

frankie-landau-banks

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart: I really enjoyed this! I had the opportunity to hear the author speak at an event shortly after finishing the book, which is always fun. The way the female characters each approached feminism in their own distinct way was really interesting to me. Some of Frankie’s thoughts seemed contradictory but that’s totally normal for a 16-year-old so I thought that was pretty smart of the author. I’m looking forward to reading her latest book, We Were Liars. Here’s a blurb about Frankie:

Over the course of one summer, Frankie Landau-Banks, a somewhat geeky girl with an unassuming nature, has developed into a 15-year-old with an attention-grabbing figure, a new attitude, and sights set on making changes at her elite boarding school. The teenager also has a new boyfriend, a gorgeous senior who belongs to a long-standing secret society on campus—The Loyal Order of the Basset Hounds, known mostly for silly pranks and a history of male-only membership. With a witty, sharp, and intelligently scheming mind, Frankie manipulates the Loyal Order to do her bidding with pranks meant to make a political statement about the male-dominated and classist nature of the school.

mystic-river

Mystic River by Dennis LeHane: I think I’ve finally made my way through all of LeHane’s books! This was good but, as usual, dark and sad. I highly recommend the book as well as the film!

tiger-lily

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson: This is a re-imagining of Peter Pan. As you probably guessed from the title, this is the story of Tiger Lily and her relationship with Peter. It’s told by Tinker Bell. I have mixed feelings about this book, mainly due to the ending, but overall I thought this was really well done.

That’s it for me! Until next year!

Leave a Reply

