toptentuesday

Time for Top Ten Tuesday! This week is a Halloween related freebie so I’m going with my top ten books to read before/during Halloween! These are books I found to be eerie, suspenseful, dark, and/or just plain scary!

jamaica-inn

Jamaica Inn (honorable mention to Rebecca!) – I really like Daphne du Maurier’s books and Jamaica Inn is one of my favorites.

shining

The Shining – I  read this because I was too scared to watch the movie and thought the book wouldn’t freak me out as much. I was wrong.

nos4a2

NOS4A2 – The author of this bookhappens to be the son of Stephen King. This works well as a Halloween or Christmas read (if you like being terrified at Christmas.) Here is the blurb:

Victoria McQueen has a secret gift for finding things: a misplaced bracelet, a missing photograph, answers to unanswerable questions. On her Raleigh Tuff Burner bike, she makes her way to a rickety covered bridge that, within moments, takes her wherever she needs to go, whether it’s across Massachusetts or across the country.

Charles Talent Manx has a way with children. He likes to take them for rides in his 1938 Rolls-Royce Wraith with the NOS4A2 vanity plate. With his old car, he can slip right out of the everyday world, and onto the hidden roads that transport them to an astonishing – and terrifying – playground of amusements he calls “Christmasland.”

winter

Winter People – I’ve mentioned this one in the past so I won’t say too much on this other than than it was creepy. Definitely a good Halloween pick.

dracula

Dracula – Of course!

morethan

More Than You Know – I’ve mentioned this as well in the past so I’ll just say it’s a ghost story, a quick read, and I really enjoyed it.

Emerson Hills

Emerson Hills – You can check out my author interview with Nicole here. Definitely a Halloween-appropriate book if you are looking for an indie author to check out.

514C8aVV4gL

Devil in the White City – This is such a great book. This is a true story of the 1893 World’s Fair as well as a serial killer that used the fair to lure his victims. This book is incredibly interesting.

sharp-objects

Gone Girl or Sharp Objects or Dark Places – Obviously Gone Girl is the most popular but Sharp Objects and Dark Places are darker in tone, I think.

9781471111440

In the Blood – Ugh. This book was keeping me up at night. The kid in this is just…no.

Do you like scary books? What are some of your favorites?

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

