September Reading Recap

September has been really crazy! I feel like a slacker because I haven’t had time to participate/comment on other blogs much this month but I’m finally back in the swing of things. However, due to lots of time spent in airports, I did manage to read 5 books!

prayers-for-rain

Prayers for Rain by Dennis Lehane – This is the fifth book in the Kenzie & Gennaro series and I enjoyed it. Like the previous books in this series, the topic was pretty dark so it isn’t for everyone. But if you like super creepy stalker weirdos you may enjoy it 😉

moonlightmile

Moonlight Mile by Dennis Lehane – I followed Prayers for Rain up with the sixth (and probably final) Kenzie and Gennaro book. I was actually pretty disappointed with this one which was a bummer since I really enjoyed the first five. Two of the main characters – Angie and Bubba – were barely in the book. The writing style felt different as well. For some reason I kept reading this thinking that Lehane was either trying to hurry and wrap up the series or got paid a boatload to write this and just threw something together. I liked that it was tied to the characters in Gone Baby Gone (book #4) but was otherwise not impressed.

i-like-you

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West – After two fairly dark books I really wanted something light and fluffy to read and this fit the bill. It’s a YA romance and I thought it was pretty cute. The two characters write notes back and forth without knowing each others identities. It’s pretty obvious who the mystery writer is but it was fun to read anyway.

the-distance-between-us-by-kasie-west

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West – Another Kasie West title, The Distance Between Us is also pretty light and sweet. I enjoyed the humor of the main character, Caymen. It’s a rich guy/poor girl love story. Between the two West books, I preferred this one but if you like YA romance, both are pretty fun.

schumer

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer – I received this one as part of my Book of the Month Club (I got a subscription as a birthday gift!) I have mixed feelings about it. I’m not a super fan but I’ve seen her show a few times and thought it was funny. Some of the essays fell a little flat to me. That being said, I really liked her diary entries (and years-later footnotes) and some of her more serious essays were really good as well.

That’s it for me! What did you all read this month?

Leave a Reply

