July Reading Recap

I’m officially at 18 of 30 books for my Goodreads Reading Challenge, putting me 1 book ahead of schedule. I really don’t know how people read 100 books a year! This month, I read:

Me Before You

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes: I really enjoyed this and am looking forward to reading the sequel. I could pretty much tell where the book was going but it was still a page-turner. I know there was some controversy surrounding both the film and the movie (which I haven’t seen yet) – I’m wondering what others thought about the book?

Woo

Wool by Hugh Howey: Okay, this doesn’t really count as a book but…I’m counting it anyway. This short story is the first of five in the Silo Series. Mankind lives in a giant silo because the air outside is toxic. People can look outside via a camera feed but the lenses have to be cleaned…which involves going outside (aka a death sentence, which is why they make criminals do it.) Sheriff Holston has doubts about whether the air outside is actually toxic but to know for sure he has to go outside. This story left me with so.many.questions. So I’ll be reading the next installment asap!

Shiver

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater: I can’t recall why I wanted to read this but it was on my to-read list and was affordable on Amazon Kindle so there ya go. (I think maybe a friend recommended it?) It reminded me a little of Twilight but focused on werewolves instead of vampires. The average rating on Goodreads is 3.78 and people seem to really love it or really hate it. It’s just not my cup of tea.

That’s it for July! If you do a monthly recap on what you’ve read, feel free to post a link in the comments section!

3 thoughts on “July Reading Recap

  1. I’ve read Wool and Shiver and enjoyed both – and I think Wool definitely counts as a book. And that reminds me that this is a series I need to complete.
    Well done with your book challenge so far.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know how people read 100 books in a year either! My goal is 60 this year and I think that is crazy!

    I LOVED Me Before You!

    Have you read The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater? I am loving it!!! I’ve heard people say they didn’t care for Shiver, but loved The Raven Cycle.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

