Goodreads Reading Challenge – June 2016

Well, the year is officially half over (yikes!) I’m almost halfway through my goal of reading 30 books in 2016 though so that’s good! Here is what I read in June:

Stolen

Stolen: A Letter to my Captor by Lucy Christopher: Oh, this book. This book is well reviewed on Goodreads and I thought it sounded interesting so I gave it a try. Here is a quick blurb:

              A girl: Gemma, 16, at the airport, on her way to a family vacation.

              A guy: Ty, rugged, tan, too old, oddly familiar, eyes blue as ice.

             She steps away. For just a second. He pays for her drink. And drugs it. They talk. Their hands touch. And before Gemma knows what’s happening, Ty takes her. Steals her away. To sand and heat. To emptiness and isolation. To nowhere. And expects her to love him.

I have mixed feelings about this book. I do think that it’s well-written and it kept my attention. BUT…we are supposed to eventually sympathize with Ty, the man who kidnaps Gemma, because he’s (a) really attractive, (b) had a rough childhood, and (c) doesn’t rape her, etc. Nah. He stalks her for years (creepy) and then drugs and kidnaps her (creepier.) I just really really didn’t feel bad for or like Ty at any point. But lots of people on Goodreads feel completely differently so it’s probably just me!

 testing

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau: This is a YA dystopian book and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it! I think if you enjoy books like The Hunger Games or Divergent you’ll enjoy this one. The Testing is the first book in a trilogy so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the next two books are also good.

 shizzle

Shizzle, Inc. by Ana Spoke: This book is pretty darn funny. It’s an indie title and I was really entertained by it. To me it had sort of a Janet Evanovich vibe, because there are some super zany characters and one-liners. This gives you an idea of the main character, Isa:

“The hurt feelings of last night didn’t seem as immediate in the morning light, but it was important to give Tara an opportunity to admit that she was wrong, and that I’m hot enough to seduce billionaires and cops.”

Isa is totally (I mean, really truly) clueless so some readers may find that irritating after a while but I found it amusing and look forward to the sequel!

That’s it for me – what did you read in June?

5 thoughts on “Goodreads Reading Challenge – June 2016

  1. I read Stolen a few years ago and it rubbed me the wrong way. He took her against her will and kept her prisoner. It romanticized rape culture, even if he physically didn’t rape her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

