Top 5 Wednesday – Literary Fathers

118368

It’s Top Five Wednesday time! Click here to join the Goodreads group!

In honor of June 19 being Father’s Day, this week’s topic is Favorite Literary Fathers/Father Figures!

41QBNNJNJ2L

1. Will Freeman in About a Boy – He’s not your typical father figure but I think it still counts! If you haven’t read About A Boy I highly recommend it!

Will Freeman may have discovered the key to dating success: If the simple fact that they were single mothers meant that gorgeous women – women who would not ordinarily look twice a Will – might not only be willing, but enthusiastic about dating him, then he was really onto something. Single mothers – bright, attractive, available women – thousands of them, were all over London. He just had to find them.

SPAT: Single Parents – Alone Together. It was a brilliant plan. And Will wasn’t going to let the fact that he didn’t have a child himself hold him back. A fictional two-year-old named Ned wouldn’t be the first thing he’d invented. And it seems to go quite well at first, until he meets an actual twelve-year-old named Marcus, who is more than Will bargained for…

mockingbird

2. Atticus Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird – I’ll be surprised if the majority of bloggers don’t put Atticus on their list! I haven’t read Go Set a Watchman – I think that may change my view of Atticus a bit? Have any of you read it? And yes, I picture Gregory Peck when I read the book!

619RpdGjmwL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

3. Matthew Cuthbert in Anne of Green Gables – I know I’m constantly referencing this book but I can’t help myself.

book thief

4. Hans Hubermann in The Book Thief – The first time I read this I couldn’t get into it and stopped after a few chapters. The second time around I absolutely loved it! I’m pretty sure I went through an entire box of tissue by the time I was finished. The relationship between Hans and Liesel is great.

kite runner

5. Baba in The Kite Runner – I’m a huge fan of Khaled Hosseini (does anyone know when he’ll release another novel?) This is one of those can’t-put-it-down books.

Your turn! Who are some of your favorite literary fathers/father figures?

Leave a Reply

