Top 5 Wednesday – Summer Reads!

118368

This week’s T5W topic: Summer Reads!

Summer reads can be interpreted in various ways (books to read on the beach, books that are light in tone, books set during the summer, etc.) My list consists of five books that are set during the summer and/or involve a beach or water in one way or another.

morethan

  1. More Than You Know by Beth Gutcheon: This novel is set during a summer in Maine. (Side note: I’ve always wanted to visit Maine.) This is a love story/ghost story and I like to re-read it every 5 years or so.

 on_chesil_beach-ian_mcewan

  1. On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan: I read Atonement for an English class and have been reading McEwan’s novels ever since (he is an amazing writer, check out his work if you haven’t already.) This book is set in the 1960s and takes place on the night of a young couple’s honeymoon. If you’ve read McEwan before, you can probably imagine that things do not go as planned.

 the-sisterhood-of-the-traveling-pants

  1. Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares: Four best friends find a pair of jeans that magically fit them all perfectly despite their differing shapes and sizes (that makes no sense, I know, don’t worry about it too much …) Each girl has summer plans but the traveling pants – they mail the pants to each other throughout the summer – keep them connected. This is a great summer read for YA fans. Plus the entire series has been released so you can read them all!

 ocean

  1. Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: I’m stretching it a bit here but there is technically a body of water so I’m counting it! Gaiman is the author of Coraline, which I also recommend. I’m going add a portion of the book blurb here instead of attempting to explain the plot myself.

 Sussex, England. A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home to attend a funeral. Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where, when he was seven, he encountered a most remarkable girl, Lettie Hempstock, and her mother and grandmother. He hasn’t thought of Lettie in decades, and yet as he sits by the pond (a pond that she’d claimed was an ocean) behind the ramshackle old farmhouse, the unremembered past comes flooding back. And it is a past too strange, too frightening, too dangerous to have happened to anyone, let alone a small boy.

 A-Painted-House-by-John-Grisham

  1. A Painted House by John Grisham: I don’t read a lot of Grisham, though I do typically enjoy films based on his novels. This is different than a typical Grisham book – meaning that it is not a courthouse crime story – and my mom suggested I read it because the main character’s childhood was similar to the way my grandfather was raised (minus the murder.) Anyhow, it’s about the summer of a young boy living on a farm in Arkansas who ends up seeing more than any 7-year-old should. The book gets pretty mixed reviews but I personally enjoyed it.

So there you have it. I had a tough time with this week’s T5W (maybe because it really could include anything?) What are your summer reads? And what do you consider a summer read?

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Summer Reads!

  1. I love that you included ‘On Chesil Beach’ with your list! I adore McEwan myself and I think this is an underrated classic. The tension and the relationship depicted between the couple is masterfully illustrated. It makes me uncomfortable and anxious in all sort of analytical ways.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

