Top 5 Wednesday – Author’s you’d want to meet at bookcon

118368

Today’s T5W: Author’s you’d want to meet at Bookcon! Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group – join and play along!

Bookcon takes place this month in Chicago. And while I’m not going (nor have I ever been), I think I need to add it to my bucket list! There are a ton of great speakers, panels, and meet and greets – it looks like a blast!

bsc

Ann M. Martin: As soon as I saw her name, I knew she was going to be #1 on my list. I used to love the Babysitters Club books. I have since passed my large collection of the series on to my cousin so her little girls can read them. Martin is presenting “Beyond the Babysitters Club” along with Raina Telgemeir (she creates the graphic novel versions of BSC.)

Author Sherman Alexie
Author Sherman Alexie

Sherman Alexie is participating in a book signing, a panel called “We Need Diverse Books Presents: Love & Loss in Children’s Literature,” and a panel called “The Power of Storytelling.” I would love to go to all three!

melissa-de-la-cruz

Melissa de la Cruz: Not gonna lie, I picked Melissa de la Cruz because my niece is obsessed with all things Descendants. So in this imaginary scenario, she is at Bookcon with me 🙂 She is participating in a panel called “What is Light without Darkness? Balancing Good and Evil in YA Literature” and I think that sounds really interesting.

Roth

Veronica Roth: If you read my blog, you may recall that Allegiant is on my DNF list, though I did enjoy Divergent. Like de la Cruz, Roth is participating in the “What is Light…” panel. One of the topics is “the power of choice for each of their characters” and I’m wondering if she’ll touch on the way she chose to end her series. I’m sure many readers would like to know more that!

kate

Kate DiCamillo: With two Newberry awards, I would love to hear what she has to say when she participates in “The Power of Storytelling” panel.

I’m also going to give an honorable mention to Chris O’Dowd because he’s really funny and I think he’s going to have a really lively session.

Are any of you going to bookcon or have you been in the past? Is it as fun as it sounds?

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Author’s you’d want to meet at bookcon

  1. Squee! I am leaving Tuesday for Chicago. I am sort of frustrated, that BEA/BookCon is not in NYC (which is 40 mins from my home), but I am excited by the list of authors who are going to be there, and Chicago is a very cool city. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

