Top 10 Tuesday – Characters you’d love to revist as an adult

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday (by The Broke and the Bookish) is a fun one!

The topic : Ten childhood characters you’d love to revisit as an adult.

pippi

Pippi Longstocking: I think I enjoyed this as a kid because Pippi was just so …unusual. She didn’t want to grow up, which I could relate to at the time. Also, she was super strong so that was pretty cool! If the Internet can be trusted, Stieg Larsson based Lisbeth from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on an adult version of Pippi Longstocking. I will never think of that book the same way again!

Eloise

Eloise: I liked Eloise because she got to live in a hotel. As a child, I thought that was the greatest thing ever. It’s rumored that Eloise was based on Liza Minnelli. So I like to think that the adult Eloise became a huge Broadway star. And she still lives in The Plaza with a pug, of course!

Harriet-the-Spy

Harriet the Spy: As I put this list together, I’m noticing that as a kid I really enjoyed books about girls getting into trouble/hi-jinks! My guess is that Harriet became a successful journalist for the New York Times (and never lost her notebook again.)

encyclopedia-brown - Copy

Encyclopedia Brown: This book series is how I learned to spell encyclopedia! I imagine that he continued with his detective agency (in a location other than his garage) or perhaps followed in his father’s footsteps and joined the Police Department. And maybe had a child nicknamed “Dictionary” or “Thesaurus.”

CalvinCalvin (& Hobbes): I’m still a Calvin & Hobbes fan. In my mind, Calvin marries Susie and they have a super rambunctious little girl and Hobbes is now her BFF.

Charlie

Charlie Bucket: It’s hard to say what happens to Charlie as an adult because he has some of the most unique experiences a person can have – anything could happen! A third Charlie book was planned by Dahl but he never finished it. The first chapter of the book is on display at the Roald Dahl Museum in England (how fun would that be to visit?!)

Ramona

Ramona Quimby: The Ramona series stops when she’s in 4th grade. I would really like to know what Beezus, Ramona, and Roberta end up doing as adults. I think they’d have some pretty funny stories to share.

o-NEW-HARRY-POTTER-COVER-facebook

Any HP Character: We technically know what becomes of Harry, Ron, and Hermione (and others) because of the Deathly Hallows epilogue but I want to know more! Good thing Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is releasing soon 🙂

Cinderella - Copy

Cinderella: Cinderella was one of my favorite Disney movies as a kid so of course I wanted to read the story as well. There are many different versions of Cinderella; I read the version by the Brothers Grimm. It was definitely more…extreme? Sure, let’s go with that. I would like to learn more about her life with the prince.

BSC

Kristy Thomas: Kristy is from the Babysitters Club (more on that during tomorrow’s post!) I imagine she starts a care.com-esque babysitting empire. Well, that or she’s a high school softball coach!

Are there any characters you would like to revisit as adults?

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Characters you’d love to revist as an adult

Leave a Reply

