Top 5 Wednesday – Books You’re Intimidated By

118368

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group – click the link to join the fun!

This week’s Top 5: Books You’re Intimidated By

I love to read. I have an English degree, I’ve worked in numerous bookstores and libraries,  and between home and work I’m pretty much constantly surrounded by books. Are there any I’m intimidated by? Absolutely! I love classics but there are some I haven’t even cracked the spine on. Here are five:

brothers k

1. The Brothers Karamazov: Along with the length (Amazon lists it as 824 pages) I feel like this book will just really confuse me. Maybe I’m wrong? Have any of you read – and loved – this?

war-and-peace

2. War & Peace: Speaking of long books….Amazon lists this as 1296 pages! I don’t hate long books, I swear. But this is a seriously long book. I’ve been told it’s hard to keep track of the characters and that there are a ton of really long, seemingly unrelated passages. I’ll probably try to tackle it one day. But not today.

the-lord-of-the-rings-book-cover

3.Lord of the Rings: I don’t read many books of this genre and I think that has something to do with the intimidation factor. I have a friend who insists I’ll love it so I’ll try to read it eventually (maybe.)

 

cloudatlas

4. Cloud Atlas: This is a favorite for many people but I haven’t attempted it yet and I’m not sure I ever will.

AtlasShrugged

5. Atlas Shrugged: I actually own this one but every time I pick it up, I immediately put it back down. Now that I think about it, my friend who insists I’ll love LOTR also loves Altas Shrugged. I wonder what books she’s intimidated by…

So apparently I’m intimidated by books that seem hard to follow and/or have the word Atlas in them!

Have you read any of these books? Am I right to be intimidated? What are your Top 5 in this category?

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Books You’re Intimidated By

  1. I actually read Lord Of The Rings. Never again. Took me 30 years to figure out why I didn’t like it. Omniscient point of view. The others I wouldn’t touch for too many reasons to list.

    Like

  2. I’ve read Lord of the Rings in separate volumes, I bought the movie covers a while ago. A few months ago, I bought the singular volume, the way Lord of the Rings is meant to be read, and I realized how huge it is. It’s on my list as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Lord of the Rings is my most favorite book! I definitely recommend it! I know it has a reputation of being dense/complex, but I think a lot of more recent fantasy is way more complicated and harder to follow. Tolkien is not a problem.

    I started The Brothers Karamazov a few years ago and loved what I read, but I had to put it down to read stuff for school at the time. I’d love to start again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

