Top 5 Wednesday -Books I DNF

I recently joined the Goodreads group Top 5 Wednesday  The group was created by Lainey and I’m excited to participate! It’s open to anyone, just click the link to join 🙂 This week’s topic: Books you DNF.

If you don’t know, DNF stands for Did Not Finish. This was a hard topic for me because it’s very rare that I don’t finish a book. But I thought long and hard and came up with my top five:

allegiant

1. Allegiant by Veronica Roth: This is the third book in the Divergent series. I really enjoyed the first book, Divergent. The second book, Insurgent, wasn’t quite as good but I still liked it. The third book? I didn’t care for it at all! I’d say I made it about 50% through before asking a friend about the ending, out of curiosity. DNF reason: boredom.

50-shades-of-grey

2. 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James: I wouldn’t normally read a book like this but it was so wildly popular that I had to! (Which is also why I read Twilight.) If I had to guess, I’d probably say I made it 25% through. Along with the character saying “oh my” every third paragraph, there were odd British quirks the main character had, despite being from the U.S. I later figured out that the author was from England but it was still distracting.DNF reason: annoyance.

th

3. The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen: I’m sure this is an amazing book. It won a National Book Award for a reason, right? I’ve started this book numerous times but I simply can’t get interested in reading it. Maybe one day…DNF reason: just couldn’t get into it

moby-dick-rockwell-kent-illus

4. Moby Dick by Herman Melville: I read this title for an English Lit class. If I recall correctly, we had to read around 11 books for this class and we started with Moby Dick. First, this book is loooong. There is so much detail. So much. It felt like a chore. But in the end, I DNF because I needed get to the next book and study for my other classes. DNF: time constraints.

glamorama

5. Glamorama by Bret Easton Ellis: This was another title read for the class mentioned above. I’d read other books by Ellis so I knew what to expect but…man, oh, man. This book is hands down the craziest book I’ve read. I did manage to skim through it but I’m counting it as a DNF because I skipped a lot. If you are looking for something totally different, though, give this a shot and let me know what you think! DNF: time constraints and confusion.

So that’s my first Top 5 Wednesday! Stop by next week for Top Five: Least Favorite Book in Your Favorite Series!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday -Books I DNF

  1. I finished Allegiant, but it was such a struggle! I’m actually hoping I’ll enjoy the movie more than I did the book.
    Divergent is the best in the series in my opinion.

    Like

  2. Melville…definitely need t-i-m-e for that whale tale! It was a good read. I finally read it when I was laid up for 5 weeks with a back injury!

    50 Shades…never tempted to read it, though it was given to me. I’d read Last Tango in Paris about 40 yrs ago…much the same premise. Not for me.

    But all that aside, your review-ish on 50 Shades as a DNF…😀…mentioned it on a blog post today!!! See, “Uh oh…I may be annoying!”

    Loving your blog!!

    Pearl

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe I’ll give Moby Dick another try! I just read your post – I definitely share your love of all things Harry Potter 🙂 Sometimes I’ll pick up British phrases here and there but for some reason it just really bugged me in 50 Shades.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Harry…..

        Each time we had to wait for the next movie, I would read the whole 7 novels! This means I’ve read through all 7 yrs about 5 times…not to mention the last three times since the final movie was released!

        Am I the world’s oldest, die hard, still binge on the books and movies, member of Pottermore since age 59, dyed in the wool HP fan in the world??

        One can only wonder😄😄

        As for Moby Dick…as I said, I was flat on my back for 5 weeks with aught else to do but read. After HP, I wanted something different. It didn’t even put me to sleep! Doubt I’d repeat the exercise, but it’s one of those stories that stays forever.

        Btw, I read all the Amazon samples on A Boy Called It…I have to hand it to you for reading that one. I couldn’t do it…it would end me.

        Like

Leave a Reply

