Goodreads Choice Awards 2015

download

I always enjoy looking through the Goodreads Choice Awards winners. I like to know what fellow readers like (vs. professional critics), it gives me a chance to bulk up my ‘to-read’ list, and there are always a few surprises in there as well.

Fiction: I was somewhat surprised to see that Go Set a Watchman won the fiction category. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s one of my all time favorites. However, I’ve read so many mixed reviews I didn’t think it would win. Especially with the new character traits of Atticus. It is on my to-read list, though.

Mystery: Girl on a Train was a fun read, in my opinion. I enjoy a good mystery and it has a Gone Girl vibe. I know a lot of people that didn’t care for this book and the ratings on Goodreads aren’t great. But it was very popular and a movie is in the works so not too surprising that it won.

A few of the winners are already loaded on my Kindle and I haven’t gotten to them yet (The Nightingale, Why Not Me, and Dead Wake, for example.)

I’m always looking to bulk up my YA collection and I was able to snag Red Queen, Finding Audrey, and All the Bright Places during Black Friday on Amazon, among others.

What did you think of the Goodreads Choice Awards winners? Did any surprise you?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

